Date: 3rd April 2017 at 5:04pm
Written by:

England coach Mark Sampson named his squad today to compete in this summer’s European Championships, and there were few surprises on show.

The majority of the players were part of the bronze-winning team at the 2015 Women’s World Cup in Canada.

However, there is a quartet who will be heading to their first senior international tournament – Millie Bright of Chelsea, and the Manchester City trio of Demi Stokes, Izzy Christiansen and Nikita Parris.

At the other end of the scale, another four players will be making an appearance at their fourth Euros – Fara Williams, Casey Stoney, Alex Scott and Karen Carney.

Manchester City forward Nikita Parris.

Liverpool full-back Alex Greenwood is named in the squad following her comeback from injury, as is Chelsea striker Fran Kirby.

However, there was no place for Kirby’s team-mate Eniola Aluko.

Full squad: 

Goalkeepers: Karen Bardsley (Manchester City), Siobhan Chamberlain (Liverpool), Carly Telford (Notts County).

Defenders: Laura Bassett (Notts County), Lucy Bronze (Manchester City), Alex Greenwood (Liverpool), Steph Houghton (Manchester City), Jo Potter (Notts County), Alex Scott (Arsenal), Demi Stokes (Manchester City), Casey Stoney (Liverpool).

Midfielders: Millie Bright (Chelsea), Isobel Christiansen (Manchester City), Jade Moore (Notts County), Jordan Nobbs (Arsenal), Jill Scott (Manchester City), Fara Williams (Arsenal).

Forwards: Karen Carney (Chelsea), Toni Duggan (Manchester City), Fran Kirby (Chelsea), Nikita Parris (Manchester City), Jodie Taylor (Arsenal), Ellen White (Birmingham City).

Brought to you by Shoot!