Date: 15th September 2022 at 1:15pm
Written by:

Gareth Southgate has handed Ivan Toney a first senior international call up, giving the striker a place in the final England squad before this winter’s World Cup.

The Three Lions face Italy and Germany in Nations League fixtures over the next ten days, in what will be the final chance for players to impress on the international stage before the showpiece kicks off in Qatar in early November.

Toney has been in good form for Brentford this season, scoring five goals in six Premier League games so far, and is included as one of eight forward players.

Jordan Pickford, who has been England’s first choice at each of the last two major tournaments, misses out through injury. Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale and Dean Henderson are selected.

Harry Maguire, who has been dropped recently by Manchester United manager Erik ten Hag, retains his place despite having not started any of United’s last four league matches.

England have just two games remaining before the World Cup starts

The centre-back is joined by Tottenham Hotspur’s Eric Dier, who has improved under Antonio Conte and returns to the national team fold after a spell out of favour.

Marc Guehi is also selected, having made his debut during the last set of international fixtures, while former Chelsea defender Fikayo Tomori, now at AC Milan, is also included.

Four right-backs, namely Reece James, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Kieran Trippier and Kyle Walker, are all included in the squad.

In midfield, there is no place for Jordan Henderson who has been injured recently, while Kalvin Phillips and Jude Bellingham, who scored against Manchester City on Wednesday, is named.

Leicester City’s James Maddison, who had been tipped by many for a recall to the squad, misses out yet again despite impressing during the early weeks of the season.

Up front, Toney is joined by the likes of Tammy Abraham, Bukayo Saka and Jarrod Bowen, as well as England captain Harry Kane.

England face a trip to Italy next Friday, before they host Germany three days later in their final match before the World Cup.

Southgate’s side haven’t won in four games, losing to Hungary twice and drawing with both Italy and Germany over the summer.

Squad in full: 

Dean Henderson, Nick Pope, Aaron Ramsdale

Trent Alexander-Arnold, Reece James, Luke Shaw, Ben Chilwell, Conor Coady, Harry Maguire, Kieran Trippier, Kyle Walker, John Stones, Marc Guehi, Fikayo Tomori, Eric Dier

Kalvin Phillips, Mason Mount, Jude Bellingham, Declan Rice, James Ward-Prowse

Bukayo Saka, Harry Kane, Ivan Toney, Phil Foden, Tammy Abraham, Jack Grealish, Jarrod Bowen, Raheem Sterling

Brought to you by Shoot!

Comments are closed.