Date: 26th February 2017 at 3:26pm
Written by:

Manchester United face Southampton at Wembley Stadium in the 2017 EFL Cup final – the competition’s 57th final showdown.

Manager Jose Mourinho has made six changes from Wednesday’s UEFA Europa League win over Saint-Etienne. with David De Gea, Antonio Valencia, Marcos Rojo, Ander Herrera, Jesse Lingard and Anthony Martial starting this afternoon.

The Red Devils have won this competition four times (1992, 2006, 2009 and 2010) and are today appearing in their ninth final.

Three of those four victories have been in their last three finals.

A fifth Cup win under manager Jose Mourinho will see them move into second on the all-time winners list alongside Chelsea and Aston Villa.

Only rivals Liverpool (12) have appeared in more League Cup finals than Manchester United (9) and only Arsenal (5) have lost more finals than The Red Devils (4).

Ahead of Sunday’s fixture with The Saints, history bodes well for United, who have played Southampton 117 times in all competitions, with United coming out on top 61 times to opposition’s 27.

Brought to you by Shoot!