Date:13th April 2016 at 1:03pm
Written by:

The 22 nominees have been announced ahead of the 43rd PFA Awards to be held in the Grosvenor House in London on Sunday, April 24, 2016.

PFA Members from 100 clubs (Premier League, Football League and WSL) have been voting and the shortlists for the nominees are as follows.

Men’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Dimitri Payet
Harry Kane
Jamie Vardy
Mesut Ozil
N’Golo Kante
Riyad Mahrez

Men’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Dele Alli
Harry Kane
Jack Butland
Philippe Coutinho
Romelu Lukaku
Ross Barkley

Saturday 23rd January Barclays Premier League - Crystal Palace v Tottenham Hotspur FC :Dele Alli celebrates Photo: Kieran Clarke

Dele Alli celebrates a goal for Tottenham. Photo: Kieran Clarke/Offside

Women’s PFA Players’ Player of the Year

Beth Mead
Gemma Davison
Hedvig Lindahl
Izzy Christiansen
Ji So-Yun

Women’s PFA Young Player of the Year

Beth Mead
Danielle Carter
Hannah Blundell
Keira Walsh
Nikita Parris

The PFA have announced this year’s nominees ahead of the 2016 PFA Awards, with the prestigious event to be held at the Grosvenor House, London on April 24.

The PFA Awards celebrates the best of English football in an evening attended by hundreds of current professional stars of the game, to recognise the outstanding performers in every division.

As the season draws towards its climax, the PFA Awards is a celebration of the achievement of all PFA members from the last 12 months.

In addition to the PFA Players’ Player of the Year and PFA Young Player of the Year categories, the divisional Team of the Year are announced for all five divisions and we honour footballing achievement through the PFA’s Merit Award.

Previous winners of the prestigious PFA Players’ Player of the Year award have included Luis Suarez, Alan Shearer, Thierry Henry, Cristiano Ronaldo and Ryan Giggs. The current holders are Eden Hazard and Ji So-Yun.

21 November 2015 - Barclays Premier League - Chelsea v Norwich City - Eden Hazard of Chelsea - Photo: Marc Atkins / Offside.

Chelsea forward Eden Hazard won the PFA Players’ Player of the Year award last season. Photo: Marc Atkins/Offside.

PFA Chief Executive, Gordon Taylor OBE: “The PFA Awards is always a special occasion and one of the biggest nights in football’s social calendar.

“For the winners who are honoured at the awards, there can be no greater personal accolade than that of being recognised by your peers; an honour to be cherished.”

Voting Explained

Appointed PFA delegates deliver the ballot forms to the training ground of the 92 league clubs and 8 WSL clubs.

  1. Members are not allowed to vote for a player that is at the same club as themselves.
  2. The cut-off age for the PFA Young Player of the Year award is 23 years old or under as at the beginning of the season (1st July 2015).
  3. The PFA use an independent company to count and verify the votes cast, and completed ballots are sent directly to Beever & Struthers Chartered Accountants.
  4. The winners for each category will be announced at the PFA Awards on April 24, 2016 in London.

Web and Social Media:

Twitter: @pfa #PFAawards
Instagram: @the_pfa #PFAawards

Brought to you by Shoot!