Date: 16th May 2018 at 6:27pm
Written by:

Liverpool defender Trent Alexander-Arnold has been named in England’s 2018 FIFA World Cup squad for this summer’s finals in Russia.

The 19-year-old, who has featured three times for England’s Under-21 side, earns his first senior call-up to the Three Lions squad after scoring three goals in 32 appearances in all competitions for the Premier League side this season.

However, there was no space for experienced goalkeeper Joe Hart of Manchester City, nor Arsenal midfielder Jack Wilshere, Liverpool’s Adam Lallana, Southampton full-back Ryan Bertrand or Burnley centre-back James Tarkowski.

There was no place in the England squad for Alexander-Arnold’s Liverpool team mate Adam Lallana (left).

But, the likes of Chelsea defender Gary Cahill was handed a recall, whilst Blues team mate Ruben Loftus-Cheek has worked his way into the 23-man list, as well as Burnley goalkeeper Nick Pope, ahead of Clarets colleague Tom Heaton.

England manager Gareth Southgate has drawn up a five-player standby list, however, for the World Cup finals, with Lallana, Heaton, Tarkowski, AFC Bournemouth midfielder Lewis Cook and West Bromwich Albion’s Jake Livermore named the reserves.

Southgate, 47, explained, “I believe this is a squad we can be excited about.

“It is a young group but with some really important senior players, so I feel the balance of the squad is good, both in terms of its experience, its character and also the positional balance.”

England manager Gareth Southgate.

England’s 2018 World Cup squad:

Goalkeepers: Jack Butland (Stoke City), Jordan Pickford (Everton), Nick Pope (Burnley).

Defenders: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool), Gary Cahill (Chelsea), Fabian Delph (Manchester City), Phil Jones (Manchester United), Harry Maguire (Leicester City), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), John Stones (Manchester City), Kieran Trippier (Tottenham Hotspur), Kyle Walker (Manchester City), Ashley Young (Manchester United).

Midfielders: Dele Alli (Tottenham Hotspur), Eric Dier (Tottenham Hotspur), Jordan Henderson (Liverpool), Jesse Lingard (Manchester United), Ruben Loftus-Cheek (Chelsea).

Forwards: Harry Kane (Tottenham Hotspur), Marcus Rashford (Manchester United), Raheem Sterling (Manchester City), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City), Danny Welbeck (Arsenal).

Standby: Lewis Cook (AFC Bournemouth), Tom Heaton (Burnley), Adam Lallana (Liverpool), Jake Livermore (West Bromwich Albion), James Tarkowski (Burnley).

Manchester United’s Ashley Young.

England kick off their 2018 World Cup campaign on June 18, before also taking on Panama and Belgium in Group G.

Other notable mentions include call-ups for Fabian Delph and Ashley Young, who have excelled as full-backs for Premier League rivals Manchester City and Manchester United respectively this season, meanwhile Arsenal forward Danny Welbeck is included, despite scoring just five league goals this campaign.

Written by Dan Church 


Brought to you by Shoot!